Skip to main content

Members’ biographical register

Hon Samuel (George) Ernest Cash

Principal Honours
Centenary of Federation Medal awarded 2003
Member of the Order of Australia (AM) awarded 26 January 2010 for service to the Parliament of Western Australia, and to the community
Date: 12 September 1946
Place: Subiaco, Western Australia
Son of William Vivian Cash, accountant, and Mary Phyllis Smith (died circa 1981) and father of Senator Michaela Cash
Marriage and Family
Married 10 May 1969, Christ Church, Claremont to Ursula Clare Yelland, daughter of Hugh Thomas and Clare Edwards
Children: one son and three daughters. Father of
Michaelia Cash, Senator for Western Australia
Church of England
Educated Mt Lawley Primary School, Scotch College
Western Australian Institute of Technology, (WAIT later Curtin University of Technology) Associate Diploma in Valuation (1975), Bachelor of Business (1978), LLB (Hons) London
University of Western Australia LL M
Employment History
Employed for a year by Utah Construction Company on construction of standard gauge railway line between Upper Swan and Northam
Self employed 1963–1977, governing director family company, involved in building construction industry (industrial and residential) City Way Building
Senior adviser Investments and Endowments Committee, University of Western Australia 1977–1982
Self employed 1982–1984, governing director of family company, involved in retail industry
Local Government Service
Stirling City Council May 1980–1986, Deputy Mayor 1983–1984
Secretary North Perth branch of Liberal Party, 1978–1979
Vice President Mt Lawley branch 1981–1982, President 1983–1984
Patron Young Liberal Movement in WA
Date Elected
22 May 1989
Inaugural Speech
Cash, Samuel George Ernest, Inaugural Speech, LC.pdf
Inaugural Video
No inaugural video is available as filming did not start until May 2003
Search for speeches by George Cash
Cash, Samuel George Ernest, Valedictory speech.pdf
Year Retired/Resigned
North Metropolitan
Parliamentary Service
  • MLA Mt Lawley 17 November 1984 (by-election)–4 February 1989 (constituency abolished in redistribution). Elected to the Thirty-first Parliament (Legislative Assembly) for Mount Lawley at the by-election on 17 November 1984 held to fill the vacancy consequent upon the resignation of Hon Raymond James O'Connor. Re-elected 1986. Electorate abolished in redistribution 1988.
  • MLC North Metropolitan Region 22 May 1989–21 May 2009. Elected to the Thirty-third Parliament (Legislative Council) for North Metropolitan Region from 22 May 1989. Re-elected 1993, 1996, 2001, 2005 (for term commencing 22 May 2005). Retired 21 May 2009.

  • Shadow Minister for Police, Emergency Services (until 7 March 1989), Prisons (until 26 April 1988), Sport and Recreation (from December 1986 until 26 April 1988), and Transport (from 26 April 1988) 19 March 1986–7 March 1989; for Police, Fisheries (until 17 June 1990), Transport (until 17 June 1990), Corrective Services, and Emergency Services (from 17 June 1990) 7 March 1989–24 November 1992
  • Coalition Shadow Minister for Police, Corrective Services, and Fisheries 24 November 1992–16 February 1993
  • Leader of the Opposition in the Legislative Council 9 February 1989–16 February 1993
  • Minister for Mines, Lands, assisting the Minister for Resource Development (until 10 February 1995), and Assisting the Minister for Public Sector Management (from 25 January 1994) 16 February 1993–26 April 1996
  • Leader of the Government in the Legislative Council 16 February 1993–26 April 1996
  • Parliamentary Secretary to the Cabinet 9 January 1997–26 May 1997
  • President of Legislative Council 27 May 1997–21 May 2001
  • Deputy President and Chairman of Committees in the Legislative Council: 22 May 2001–21 May 2005. Reappointed 24 May 2005–21 May 2009.
  • Coalition Shadow Minister for Lands 27 May 2004–20 March 2005
  • Opposition spokesperson for Lands 20 March 2005–21 May 2005

  • Member Standing Committee on Government Agencies 17 March 1992–16 December 1992 (membership ceased on prorogation)
  • Member Printing Committee 18 March 1997–10 June 1998
  • Member Estimates and Financial Operations Committee 10 April–27 May 1997
  • Chairman Standing Orders Committee 27 May 1997–10 January 2001. (The House was prorogued from 10 January 2001–1 May 2001.)
  • Chairman Estimates Committee 8 August 2001–31 December 2004
  • Deputy Chairman Standing Committee on Procedure and Privileges (formerly Standing Orders Committee): 24 May 2001–21 May 2005. (The House was prorogued from 23 January 2005 - 29 March 2005.) Reappointed 24 May 2005–21 May 2009.
  • Member Parliamentary Services Committee 28 June 2001–21 May 2009
  • Chairman Select Committee on Privilege relating to Police Surveillance of Honourable Reg Davies 22 October–1 December 1992
  • Member Select Committee on State Investments, Rothwells, Petrochemical Industries Company Limited and Western Australian Government Holdings 30 May 1991–6 March 1992
  • Member Select Committee on Aboriginal Legal Service Writ of Summons 25 August–1 September 1992
  • Member Select Committee on Privilege relating to the Non-Compliance of Brian Easton with an Order of the House 9 August–15 December 1994
  • Member Select Committee on Appropriateness of Powers and Penalties for Breaches of Parliamentary Privilege and Contempts of Parliament 5 June 2008–7 August 2008 and 12 November 2008–21 May 2009
  • Chairman Select Committee to review the Legislative Council Standing Committee System 26 June–27 August 1997
  • Chairman Select Committee into the Police Raid on the Sunday Times 14 May 2008–7 August 2008 and 12 November 2008–21 May 2009

Commonwealth Parliamentary Association
  • Represented WA branch Commonwealth Parliamentary Association at 19th Australasian and Pacific Regional Conference, Darwin 1987
  • Acting Senior Regional Development Representative Commonwealth Parliamentary Association, Australian Region 31 January–31 December 2001 following the resignation of Hon George Strickland, MLA from this position.

Presiding Officers and Clerks Conferences
  • Attended 28th Presiding Officers and Clerks Conference, Nauru, July 1997
  • Attended 29th Presiding Officers and Clerks Conference, Sydney, July 1998
  • Attended 30th Presiding Officers and Clerks Conference, Fiji, July 1999
  • Attended 31st Presiding Officers and Clerks Conference, Norfolk Island, July/August 2000
  • Attended 32nd Presiding Officers and Clerks Conference, Wellington, NZ, July 2001 (in his capacity as Commonwealth Parliamentary Association Regional Representative)

  • Secretary Economic and Employment Council 1985
Member Australian Workers’ Union
Chairman Australian and New Zealand Minerals and Energy Council 1 January 1994–31 December 1995
Deputy Chairman A Cap Development Ltd
Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Secretaries and Administrators
Associate of Institute of Corporate Managers, Secretaries and Administrators
Justice of the Peace 1979
One time vice patron of Alexander Park Tennis Club and Surf Living Saving Association and patron of numerous community associations
D Black and G Bolton, eds, Biographical Register of Members of the Parliament of Western Australia: volume two 1930-2010, Western Australian Parliamentary History Project, Perth, WA, 2011, p. 41.
West Australian Magazine, 20–26 February 1988.
Speakers Presidents