Skip to main content

Members’ biographical register

Mr Michael (Mike) Francis Board

Principal Honours
Member of the Order of Australia (OAM) awarded 26 January, 2019 for service to youth in Western Australia
Date: 15 June 1952
Place: Paddington, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Arrival in WA
Arrived in WA 1985
Son of Ronald Francis, small businessman and taxi proprietor, and Dorothy June Freeman, secretary
Marriage and Family
Married 19 January 1974, Sydney to Anne Louise Ball, daughter of Digby Francis and Elizabeth Beaver
Children: one son and one daughter
Educated at Marist Brothers Woolahra, and Marcellin College, Randwick, NSW
Royal Australian Naval College (officer training) Jervis Bay 1969–1972
University of New South Wales—Arts
Employment History
Public service with Commonwealth Employment Service (CES) and Department of Employment and Youth Affairs, 1972–1982—CES manager Kings Cross (largest office in NSW)
Officer in charge National Employment and Training Programme
Division head, Victoria Special Services (training and employment) for Handicapped, Aborigines, ex-Prisoners
Clothing retailer and manufacturer (‘Aussie Gold’ fashion sportswear) 1982–1992
After leaving politics Group Manager Youth Services St John of God Healthcare
Local Government Service
Melville City Council 1988–1991, Deputy Mayor 1990, Chairman of Planning 1991
Date Elected
6 February 1993
Inaugural Speech
Inaugural Video
No inaugural video is available as filming did not start until May 2003
Search for speeches by Mike Board
Board, Michael Francis, Valedictory Speech.pdf
Year Retired/Resigned
Jandakot; Murdoch
Parliamentary Service
  • MLA Jandakot 6 February 1993–14 December 1996. Elected to the Thirty-fourth Parliament for Jandakot on 6 February 1993 in succession to Barry John MacKinnon (retired). Electorate abolished in redistribution 1994.
  • MLA Murdoch 14 December 1996–26 February 2005. Elected to the Thirty-fifth Parliament for Murdoch (new seat) on 14 December 1996. Re-elected 2001. Retired prior to general election, 26 February 2005 and succeeded by Trevor Raymond Sprigg (Liberal).

  • Minister Works and Services; Youth; and Multicultural and Ethnic Affairs 9 January 1997–11 August 1998
  • Minister for Works and Services, and for Citizenship and Multicultural Interests 11 August 1998–22 December 1999
  • Minister for Employment and Training, Youth, and the Arts 22 December 1999–15 February 2001
  • Shadow Minister for Health, Culture and the Arts 9 March–31 December 2001
  • Shadow Minister for Health and Youth 1 January 2002–27 May 2004

  • Member Public Accounts and Expenditure Review Committee 22 June 1993–14 November 1996
  • Deputy Chairman Standing Committee Education and Health from 30 May 2001
  • Chairman Select Committee on Metropolitan Development and Ground Water Supplies 30 November 1993–1 December 1994
  • Member Select Committee on Heritage Laws 8 September 1993–27 February 1995
Private Member's Bills
Metropolitan Region Scheme (Fremantle) Bill 2004 Bill Lapsed - 23/1/2005
Member National Aboriginal Employment and Development Committee 1978
Member Chamber of Commerce 1989–1991, Senior vice-president 1992
Chairman Point Heathcote Community Committee 1991
Member Wireless Hill Committee 1991
Member Boad Perth Theatre Company
Member Board Passages Resource Centre
Member committee Waylan Bay Sea Scouts 1991
From December 2001 Chair St John of God Foundation, Lighthouse Project (for homeless youth)
From 2002 Chair Save Our Southern Suburbs Committee
At Royal Australian Naval College in First XV Rugby, First XI cricket, captain tennis team 1969–70, light welter weight and welter weight boxing champion, competed in Sydney to Hobart Yacht Race club champion (B Grade) Woolahra Golf Club, member pennant team St Michael’s Club
President East Fremantle Tennis Club 1987–1991, member 1985–2991, captain three winning pennant teams, most improved player 1987
Member East Fremantle Football Club, South of Perth Yacht Club, East Fremantle Sailing Club 1991
Member Board Perth Wildcats
Justice of the Peace
D Black and G Bolton, eds. Biographical Register of Members of the Parliament of Western Australia, Vol. 2, 1930-2010, Western Australian Parliamentary History Project, Perth, WA, 2010, p. 20.
Parliament of Western Australia website / Former Members accessed February 2011
Further Information